Start a new topic

Debugger error

Hi and thanks for a great software

I'm a web developer and usually work with chrome debugger tools and 'Pause on exceptions' enabled.

Very often when working on a page I get an exception in main_content.js line 53:

appAPI.message.addListener( { channel: "popup" }, function( info ){

Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'message' of undefined

(seems like appAPI is not defined)

which I presume has to do with clibu web clipper.

Thx!

Hi Mika,

Thanks for your kind words and bug report. I have Chrome dev tools open all the time as well, however I don't have  'Pause on exceptions' enabled and have now enabled it.

I tried various activities using the Web Clipper and so far haven't seen any exceptions.

Can you provide any more details on what you are doing when the exception occurs. I assume you are using the Web Clipper in some way?

Also is Clibu open in the Browser?

FYI appAPI is a window global variable which is common between the Extension and the Content script. You can actually access and debug the content script in the Chrome Debugger via. Sources | Content Scripts. It is under the file:// item. The file is app_api_2016.js 

This screenshot shows it. Could you check this next time the exception is raised - thanks.

Hi Neville,

I have clipbu open in a desktop shortcut (created in chrome settings -> more tools -> add to desktop)

I get the exception intermittently while working inside my browser on a completely unrelated tab.

under sources -> content scripts -> file://

I have one folder including one file: main_content.js where the exception is as I wrote above

Global -> appAPI is not there (it is not defined), this is why the exception is raised.

Thanks !

Hi Mika,

Thanks for checking this out for me.

Is the unrelated Tab some random web page?

Are you doing any Browser development of your own when the exception is raised?

I assume you are using the latest version of Chrome.